Friday, June 28, 2013

ASHES ON THE WAVES by Mary Lindsey Blog Tour



Welcome to the last stop on the ASHES ON THE WAVES blog tour! I'm thrilled to be a part of this tour. Mary Lindsey is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.

***ABOUT THE BOOK***

Release Date: June 27, 2013
Publisher: Philomel


A sexy gothic romance based on Edgar Allan Poe’s “Annabel Lee”

Liam MacGregor is cursed. Haunted by the wails of fantastical Bean Sidhes and labeled a demon by the villagers of Dòchas, Liam has accepted that things will never get better for him—until a wealthy heiress named Annabel Leighton arrives on the island and Liam’s fate is changed forever.

With Anna, Liam finally finds the happiness he has always been denied, but the violent, mythical Otherworlders, who inhabit the island and the sea around it, have other plans. They make a wager on the couple’s love, testing its strength through a series of cruel obstacles. But the tragedies draw Liam and Anna even closer. Frustrated, the creatures put the couple through one last trial—and this time it’s not only their love that’s in danger of being destroyed.

Based on Edgar Allan Poe’s chilling poem Annabel Lee, with references to many of his other works including The Raven, Mary Lindsey creates a frighteningly beautiful gothic novel that glorifies the power of true love.

Perfect for fans of Lauren Kate’s Fallen series, Kendra Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood, and Kelly Creagh’s Nevermore.

***Find ASHES ON THE WAVES and Mary Lindsey Online***


***My Review*** 

As I mentioned earlier, Mary Lindsey is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I couldn't get enough of her last novel, SHATTERED SOULS. I devoured that book. So I was not even the least bit surprised that I loved ASHES ON THE WAVES. But it wasn't as simple as loving it. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. It was creepy and eerie and fantastic in all the best ways. 

Bases on the poem "Annabel Lee" by Edgar Allen Poe, this novel is nothing short of brilliant. I loved every single detail of Liam's curse and Anna's denial. I felt pulled in every direction by their tale of true love, almost as if the waves from the ocean and the Otherworlders were calling to me as I read. Each chapter unveiled another gripping piece to their story, keeping me glued to the exquisitely written words well past my bedtime. 

Each chapter begins with a small bit of other poems written by Poe, which only added another level of wonderful creepiness to the storyline. The lines of the poetry seemed to help increase the tension throughout. Told from the point of view of Liam and, surprisingly, that of Muireann. Reading from Muireann's, a rather important selkie in the story, point of view was a treat in and of itself, but it was Liam's point of view that really pulled me the most. His pain, and acceptance of that pain, was tangible and real. 

Even more real, however, is the raw emotion that comes off the page when Liam sees/hears/speaks to Anna. Having been an outcast most his life, Liam doesn't exactly have a lot of friends of experience with social interactions and certainly not romance. But it's obvious right away that his feelings for Anna run deep, and they have always have. I loved seeing their relationship unfold in both the small bits revealed about their past together, and in the development of their love as I read along. 

I could go on and on about how much I loved this book, but I'm terrified I'm going to ruin something for you. So let me just say this: if you are a fan of gothic loves stories that are beautifully and imaginatively written and promise to give you chills late into the night, then pick this book up. It's fantastic and one that deserves a permanent place on your bookshelf. I know it will hold a special place on mine! 

My Rating:


 



No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails