Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Review: The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox

The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox
Paperback, 384 Pages
Release Date: September 18, 2012
Published by: HarperTeen

Description (from Goodreads):
When Charlotte comes to after being pushed onto the subway tracks, she is informed by a group of teenage girls that she is dead…they all are. Meet the Dead Girls Detective Agency. With the support of these dynamic girls—including fashionable Lorna, who can’t wait to find out if the devil actually wears Prada, and nerdy Nancy, who insists on staying in limbo to help out other girls—Charlotte follows leads and tracks down clues to solve her own murder. With plenty of juicy mysteries and some pretty cute guys, readers are sure to fall in love with this fun and suspenseful page-turner!

Fans of Meg Cabot, Sara Shepard, and Ally Carter will delight in this exciting new paperback original.


Review:
I was very excited to read this book because of the whole mystery aspect. Though I still enjoyed the book, I can't help but feel disappointed.

I love a good mystery, but this book took forever to do what the main point of the story was to do, solve Charlotte's murder. Most of the time Charlotte was worrying about what her ex-boyfriend was doing and who he was doing it with. I was also surprised that Charlotte never went and saw her parents, she just always went to David, who continued to be a jerk over and over again.

So now to the reason I enjoyed this book. The book really started to get good like in the last 100 or so pages. This was when Charlotte got serious about solving her murder and when all the clues started appearing. But the book did keep me guessing as to who the murderer was. One moment I'm thinking it's Charlotte's ex David, and the next I'm thinking it is one of Charlotte's friends or maybe a cheerleader. I was completely clueless as to who it was. I always like having to keep guessing, it keeps me interested. 

I did also enjoy reading about what the ghosts could do. The coolest was porting, which is when they think of a place they want to go and then they are taken there. They could also possess someone's body and make it talk and walk, and the person wouldn't even remember. They could also make themselves visible to humans.

Overall, The Dead Girl's Detective Agency was a fun read that kept me guessing.




No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails